Pluto's 4th, 5th Moons Get Names

Pluto’s recently discovered moons now have names.

The International Astronomical Union (IAU) announced that Pluto’s fourth and fifth moons, discovered in 2011 and 2012, will be named Kerberos and Styx. The moons were formerly known as P4 and P5.

Kerberos and Styx were first observed by the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope Wide Field Camera 3. Kerberos’ orbit is between Nix and Hydra, two bigger moons discovered by Hubble in 2005, and Styx is between Charon, the innermost and biggest moon, …

Powered by WPeMatico

This entry was posted in Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.