Nimasa Rattles Customs

The only goal of the match was scored by Femi Ogunrinde through a penalty kick in the 12th minute of the second half.
The 5th Maritime Cup Competition, which commenced at the Legacy Stadium Astro Turf of the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos. has continued to elicit closer working relationships among operators and stakeholders in the maritime sector, according to the Chairman, Association of Association of Team Managers (ATM), Mr. Rotimi Anifowoshe.
The opening match was kicked off by the Managing Director of APM Terminals Apapa Limited, Mr. Dallas Hampton, and was attended by senior representatives of virtually all public and private organisations in the maritime sector.
At the draws of the competition held in Apapa, Lagos recently, NIMASA and the NCS were drawn in Group A, alongside the Certified Institute of Shipping (CIS) and SDV/Bollore Group.
A total of 16 teams participated in the draws.
The team  include: Micura, Lagos Deep Offshore Logistics Base (LADOL), National Association of Government Approved Forwarders (NAGAFF) and APM Terminals, playing in Group B; Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC), Nigerian Navy (NN), Association of Registered Freight Forwarders, Nigeria (AREFFN) and Blue Ocean in Group C; Sifax Group, ENL Consortium Limited, Ocean Star and Mediterranean Shipping Company (MSC) in Group D.
Coordinator of the Draws and Chairman Lagos State Referees Council, Prince Adesegun Kosoko, Kosoko charged the participating teams not to see the competition as a must-win, but, rather, as an avenue of meeting themselves outside their various business environments.
He commended the organizers, Ships & Ports Communication Company, for their effort in promoting sporting activities in the Nigerian maritime sector, noting that the competition has grown, considering the first edition that was played at the Nigerian Navy Barracks in Apapa, Lagos, with only six teams in 2009.
Chief Executive Officer of Ships & Ports Communication Company, Mr. Bolaji Akinola, said that his company’s decision to organise the competition on an annual basis is to promote the spirit of sportsmanship in the Nigerian maritime industry.
He said that, since inception of the competition, there has not been any incident and urged the teams to maintain that record as well as strengthen relations among themselves.
Past winners of the competition include the Nigeria Customs Service (2011 and 2012); Micura (2010);. and Nigerian Navy (2009).
Akinola disclosed that this year’s Maritime Cup is named sponsored by Micura Stevedoring Services in honour of Pa John Okunloye, the late father of the Chairman of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN), Princess Vicky Haastrup.
He added that while the winner of the competition will go home with N500, 000.00; the second and the third position will receive N300, 000.00 and N200, 000.00, respectively.
Other sponsors of this year’s competition, apart from Micura, include APM Terminals Apapa, sponsoring the Fair Play Award; Sifax Group, sponsoring the Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award; and Sopetro, which is sponsoring the Highest Goal Scorer Award.

Powered by WPeMatico

This entry was posted in Business. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.