Egypt declares curfew in Cairo, several provinces

CAIRO, Qahirah, Aug 14, 2013 (AFP)

Egypt’s government Wednesday declared a daily curfew in Cairo and 11 other provinces in a bid to contain nationwide violence following a crackdown on supporters of ousted president Mohamed Morsi.

The curfew was to begin at 7:00 pm (1700 GMT), before sunset, and run until 6:00 am (0400 GMT), a government spokesman said in a statement read out on

state television.

It applies to the provinces of Cairo, Giza, Alexandria, Beni Sueif, Menya, Assiut, Sohag, Beheira, North Sinai, South Sinai and Suez.

The government later added that Isamiliya would also be under curfew.

The measure in all 12 provinces will last one month, the government said,  after the presidency announced a month-long state of emergency in the country.

Click here to read the article from its source.

Powered by WPeMatico

This entry was posted in Morocco News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply