ANC takes seven wards in by-elections

The ANC won seven of the 11 municipal by-elections held around the country, according to results released by the Independent Electoral Commission.

The Democratic Alliance retained three wards, and an independent candidate took a highly contested ward in Tlokwe (Potchefstroom) from the ruling party.

Tlokwe Ward 26 was taken from the ANC by independent candidate Butiki Mahlabe, who won 61.03%of the votes cast yesterday.

Mahlabe was one of the 14 councillors expelled by the ANC in July after its provincial disciplinary committee found them guilty on four counts of misconduct for participating in a motion of no confidence in then Tlokwe mayor Maphetle Maphetle.

Maphetle was replaced as mayor by DA councillor Annette Combrink.

The ANC’s national disciplinary committee later overturned the expulsions.

Despite this, eight of the 14 councillors registered as independent candidates for the by-elections. Mahlabe was a councillor in the area for 12 years.

Ward 18 and Ward 6 in Tlokwe were retained by the ANC.

The party’s Thapelo Skozana took Ward 18 with 62% of the votes, and his colleague Bosigo Monaisa secured Ward 6 with 63.64% of the vote.

The ANC’s Tryphina Nomana retained Ward 6 in Drakenstein (Paarl), in the Western Cape, for the party, with 71.98% of the vote.

It was previously held by an ANC councillor who was expelled from the party. Nomana was opposed by independent candidate Sithembiso Magqazana, and Zeniwokhe Ndwanya of the DA.

The ANC also retained Ward 2 in Ramotshere Moiloa (Zeerust). Its candidate Pogiso Maetla took 69.28% of the vote. The North West ward was previously held by the ANC but became vacant after its councillor resigned.

Opposing Maetla were Lesego Leka of the Azanian People’s Organisation and Lorraine Melamu of the United Christian Democratic Party.

The ANC also kept Ward 8 in Giyani, Limpopo, with 83.25% of the vote.

Makoma Modjela went up against Morris Ngobeni of the African People’s Convention, Matome Sethibela of the Congress of the People, and Thulase Sithole of the Ximoko Party.

The ward’s previous ANC councillor died.

The governing party retained Ward 4 in Merafong City (Carletonville), in Gauteng, with Bukiwe Mafika securing 69.20% of the votes.

She was opposed by independent candidate Elias Matabane, and the DA’s Vuyisile Mcunana.

The previous ANC councillor died.

The ANC also retained Ward 22 in Mbhashe (Dutywa), in the Eastern Cape, after Silulami Ndinisa garnered 82.77% of the vote.

He defeated independent candidate Mzekeleli Ndabangaye, the Inkatha Freedom Party’s Axolile Ntunja, and Xolani Msenge of the Pan Africanist Congress

The ward became vacant when the ANC incumbent resigned.

The DA retained Ward 9 in Lesedi (Heidelberg), Gauteng, as its candidate Gerhard Holtzhausen was unopposed.

The ward was previously represented by the DA and became vacant after the councillor died.

The DA also retained Ward 8 in Mossel Bay as its candidate Dirk Kotze secured 64.45% of the vote against independent candidate Nicolaas Lodewyks, and the ANC’s Francois du Plessis.

The ward was previously held by a DA councillor and became vacant when he was expelled from the party.

The opposition party also retained Ward 33 in eThekwini (Durban) with its candidate Nicole Lee Graham winning 86.97% of the vote.

She was opposed by the ANC’s Sandile Msibi and the National Freedom Party’s Nkosinathi Khanyile.

The ward was previously held by a DA councillor who resigned.

The post ANC takes seven wards in by-elections appeared first on City Press.

Powered by WPeMatico

This entry was posted in South Africa News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply