Entries open for 40th Sanlam Financial Journalism Awards

Sanlam is a leading financial services group listed on the JSE Limited and the Namibian Stock Exchange. Established in 1918 as a life insurance company, the South Africa-based Sanlam Group has transformed into a diversified financial services business. Through its four business clusters – Sanlam Personal Finance, Sanlam Emerging Markets, Sanlam Investments and Santam  ̶  the Group provides comprehensive and tailored financial solutions to individual and institutional clients across all market segments. The Group’s areas of expertise include insurance, financial planning, retirement, trusts, wills, short-term insurance, asset management, risk management and capital market activities, investment and wealth. The Group operates in South Africa, Botswana, Swaziland, Malawi, Zambia, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya, Ghana, Nigeria, India, Malaysia and the United Kingdom and has business interests in the USA, Australia and the Philippines. It has a stake in leading global micro-insurance specialists, UK-based Micro-Ensure Holdings Limited, which has a footprint across Africa and India servicing more than 10 million enrolled clients.


Entries have opened for the 2014 Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism which will be presented for the 40th consecutive year in June 2015.


Entries will close on 20 February 2015, giving financial journalists ample time to submit their entries. Entry is open to South African journalists with the African Growth Story category open also to journalists working across the continent whose work is published and/or broadcast in Africa. It is the second year that the African Growth Story category will be presented. It is part of ongoing efforts to improve the awards.


A record 134 entries, including those from journalists outside South Africa entering the African Growth Story category, were received for the 2013 Awards which were presented in July this year. Sanlam is hoping the 2014 entries will be even bigger.


Dr Johan van Zyl, Sanlam Group Chief Executive, says that the 40-year milestone reaffirms the Group’s commitment to honouring the role that financial journalists play in the economy and the corporate sector. “We continue to respect the work of the financial media, often in challenging circumstances.”


Van Zyl says that despite the fast pace of change within the media, the critical function performed by financial journalists remains unchanged. “They inform and educate us and they are watchdogs. As such, they are truly indispensable to the business world.”


The categories – revised last year in line with the changing media landscape – include platform neutral (business/companies, economy, financial markets, consumer financial education and African growth story) and platform specific (radio journalist of the year, television journalist of the year, print journalist of the year and the online or multi-media journalist of the year) awards. Special awards for lifetime achievement, best newcomer of the year and financial journalist of the year will also be awarded.


Ainsley Moos, Head: Group Communications at Sanlam says the award extended to journalists from other African countries – the African Growth Story award – is important for the Group, which has a presence in 15 countries across Africa. “In its first year, we received a relatively good number of entries from outside South Africa, and we are now bolstering our efforts to ensure that we receive even more work from the rest of the continent this year. There is so much talent and excellent financial and investigative journalism across Africa which we are eager to uncover and award through this category.”


The judging panel will use the following criteria to evaluate entries: news value, impact, rigour in reporting, analytical value, originality, integrity, specialist knowledge and story-telling.



Peter Vundla, chairperson of AMB Capital Limited, is the convener of the judging panel.

The judges are: Charles Naudé, retired editor; Caroline Southey, Editor: The Conversation Africa; Franz Krüger, Adjunct Professor of Journalism, Wits; Prof Nixon Kariithi, Tangaza Africa Media; Maud Motanyane, Kagiso Media; Ulrich Joubert, independent economist and Jabulani Sikhakhane, Chief Director: Communications at the National Treasury.


For more information click Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism for the dedicated awards website which provides full details about the categories and how to enter online.


Source: www.sanlam.co.za

Leave a Reply

Translate »