Finalists announced for East African Power Industry Awards in Nairobi

Top power projects and people awarded at EAPIC in August

Former Kenyan Permanent Secretary for Energy and Petroleum, Patrick Nyoike, the Ugandan Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Irene Nafuna-Muloni, the Turkana Lake Wind Project in Kenya and Rwanda’s Agahozo Shalom Youth Village are just some of the top achieving finalists in this year’s East African Power Industry Awards that will take place during the East African Power Industry Convention (EAPIC) on 27 August in Nairobi. Prominent Kenyan actor and media personality Chris Okinda will be the MC during the awards gala dinner.

The finalists, which celebrate the region’s triumphs and successes in 2014/2015, were announced this week in seven award categories, ranging from Power Transaction of the Year, Clean Energy Project of the Year to the category of Outstanding Woman in Power.

The Ugandan minister Nafuna-Muloni scored a double nod from the judges with nominations in two categories, namely Lifetime Achievement Award and Outstanding Woman in Power. The panel of independent judges comprises accomplished industry experts.

“We are very proud to be able to honour the outstanding power professionals and projects in the East African region and I think the list of excellent finalists speaks for itself,” says Natalie Bacon, programme director of EAPIC, taking place at the KICC from 27-28 August. She adds: “the individuals and projects represent those companies and executives who have been responsible for pioneering new frontiers, pushing boundaries, inspiring others and achieving growth in turbulent and challenging markets.” The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 27 August at the Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel.

The finalists in the East African Power Industry Awards are:

Lifetime Achievement AwardRegional Award, East Africa
A standout individual, from either a public, private company or institution, who is recognised for initiatives leading to successful transformation of the sector and a positive impact on the East African Power Industry.

–  Albert Butare, Founder and CEO, Africa Energy Services Group Ltd, Rwanda

–  David M. Mwangi, Energy Consultant, Power Africa, Kenya

–  Irene Margaret Nafuna-Muloni, Minister of Energy & Mineral Development, Ministry of Energy & Mineral Development, Uganda

–  Izael Pereira Da Silva, Associate Professor and Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs, Strathmore University, Kenya

–  Patrick Nyoike, Former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Energy & Petroleum, Kenya

Outstanding Clean Power Project
This award recognises regional and international game changers who develop technologies and processes that innovate and promote renewable generation in East Africa.

–          2.2 MW Gorge Farm AD Plant, Tropical Power, Kenya

–          Adama-II wind farm, HYDROCHINA and CGCOC, Tanzania

–          Lake Turkana Wind Power Project, Kenya

–          Olkaria Expansion Project, KenGen, Kenya

–          “Pay as you use” solar project, NVI Energy, Kenya

Excellence in Power Transmission or Distribution
This award will go to a transmission or distribution company that has excelled in meeting the growing power needs of the region. The judges have reviewed projects enhancing distribution of power, service delivery, off-grid innovations, project roll-out, technology roll-out and revenue protection measures or loss reduction.

–          KETRACO, Kenya

–          Kenya Power & Lighting Company, Kenya

–          Rural Electrification Authority, Kenya

–          Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Limited, Uganda

–          Umeme, Uganda

CSR Initiative of the Year
This prestigious award honours the organisation that demonstrates high standards and initiatives that enrich the East African citizens. The award aims to recognise the values that form the cornerstone of a good business from its approach to knowledge transfer, suppliers, the environment and a sustainable future.

–          Agahozo Shalom Youth Village, Gigawatt Global, Norfund and Scatec Solar, Rwanda

–          Female only Solar Photovoltaic Workshop training, USAID, PEER Project & Strathmore University, Kenya

–          I-Afrika School biogas plant, Airtel, Kenya

–          Light for Life, Helvetic Solar Company, Tanzania

Power Transaction of the Year
This award commends sustainable investment in a power project or initiative. Recognising investors, financial institutions and consortiums we distinguish an enterprise that has made major impact on the East African Power sector.

–          400MW wind power farm in the Meru County, Eastern Kenya, French Development Agency, Germany’s Development Bank & KenGen, Kenya

–          Jumeme Rural Power Supply Ltd, Sustainable Energy Fund for Africa, Tanzania

–          Kenya–Tanzania Power Interconnection Project, African Development Bank Group, Kenya/Tanzania

–          Kipeto Wind Farm, World Bank & International Finance Corporation, Kenya

–          Powerhive East Africa Ltd, Kenya

–          Promoting Utility Scale Power Generation from Wind Energy, The Ministry of Water Resources and Electricity, Sudan & United Nations Development Programme, Sudan

Excellence in Power Generation

Celebrating the successes of a generating company, utility or IPP that has significantly enhanced East African power capacity and output.

–          Eskom Uganda Limited, Uganda

–          Ethiopian Electric Power Corporation, Ethiopia

–          KenGen, Kenya

–          TANESCO, Tanzania

Outstanding Woman in Power – Regional Award, East Africa
This award celebrates a woman in the East African Power sector for outstanding achievements during the past year which has made a contribution to and impact on the sector, whether from a public or private company or institution.

–          Azeb Asnake, CEO, Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia

–          Elham Mahmood Ahmed Ibrahim, Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union, Ethiopia

–          Irene Margaret Nafuna-Muloni, Minister of Energy & Mineral Development,

Ministry of Energy & Mineral Development, Uganda

–          Jenny Fletcher, CEO, Ariya Capital, Kenya

–          Nokwanda Mngeni, Managing Director &CEO, Eskom Uganda Limited, Uganda

Kenya Power, the country’s leading power transmission and distributioncompany, is the headline gold sponsor for the inaugural East African Power Industry Awards. Other award sponsors are Aurecon, Rentworks and Genesis Electricity Limited.

The 17th edition of EAPIC is expected to gather some 1200 visitors this year, including from the region’s leading power utilities, large industries and investors as well as technology and service providers who will showcase their products on the exhibition.

EAPIC and the East African Power Industry Awards are organised by Spintelligent, leading Cape Town-based trade exhibition and conference organiser, and the African office of Clarion Events Ltd, based in the UK.

EAPIC and Clean Power East Africa dates and location:
Exhibition & Conference: 27-28 August 2015
Industry awards: 27 August 2015 – Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel
Pre-conference master classes:  26 August 2015
Site visits: 25 August 2015
Location:  KICC, Nairobi


Leave a Reply

Translate »